Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Question about charging handle

Feedback Score

Question about charging handle

I am relatively new to M4's and I purchased my first last summer, a DD complete middy. My question is, when the last round is fired from the magazine, is the charging handle supposed to stay in the back/open postion?

I thought that it did and when I went shooting this weekend, but it did not. The bolt is open and charged, when a fresh magazine is inserted and the bolt closed, she's ready to go and works flawlessly. It is just the charging handle itself is in the closed position and when I pull back on it after the last round, there is no resistance and it can be easily moved back and forth as the bolt is already open/charged.

Is this normal?

Feedback Score
    23 (100%)
    Perfectly normal. The bolt should lock open, but the charging handle stays forward.

If the charging handle came back when the last round was fired it would hit you in the face.
    Last edited by SteveL; 04-06-11 at 09:13.
    Steve

Disclaimer: I am employed by Shadow Systems. My posts on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.

Feedback Score
    Thanks Steve, makes perfect sense. I obviously started in the world of handguns and I am used to their operation.

I'd be a whole hell of alot more lost if not for this site, thanks!
    Last edited by Falkon; 04-06-11 at 09:15.

Feedback Score
    66 (100%)
    Yup, the charging handle should "lock" to the upper receiver. After the last round and you insert a new mag, you can release the bolt with the bolt release or pull the charging all the way to the rear to "slingshot" it.

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    Well, I really wouldn't suggest 'slingshotting' an AR since the bolt release is the preferred method unlike the handgun where either is perfectly acceptable.