Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Stock options for 20" SPS Tactical (.308)

Feedback Score

Stock options for 20" SPS Tactical (.308)

I have the 20" SPS Tactical (.308) with a rubber Hogue stock. I'm very new to precision shooting but read a lot about the stock flexing. So I want to upgrade my stock.

I'm looking at the Bell and Carlson Medalist Light Tactical Rifle Stock Remington 700 BDL Short Action with Aluminum Bedding Block System Varmint Barrel Channel Synthetic Black, and the H-S Precision Pro-Series Rifle Stock Remington 700 BDL Short Action Police Sniper Varmint Barrel Channel Synthetic Black.

Can anyone tell me anything about these two stocks?

They're both under $300.

Will either make much difference to a new shooter?

Thanks.
    "You won't rise to the ocassion, you'll default to your level of training." Barrett Tillman

NRA LE Handgun/Shotgun Instructor
    Pa ACT235 Firearms Instructor
    Certified Glock Armorer

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    How does your rifle shoot with the stock it has?
    The number of folks on my Full Of Shit list grows everyday

http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n289/SgtSongDog/AR%20Carbine/DSC_0114.jpg
    I am American

Feedback Score
    26 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by MistWolf View Post
    How does your rifle shoot with the stock it has?
    Bingo.

It's one of those things that gets bandied about the gun forums and repeated as gospel but no one has actually quantified it in any meaningful way.

A random gun forum junkie sees the forestock flex (slightly), assume it must be touching the barrel and accordingly must have a profound harmonic effect, they can't hit their target (because they're new shooters) and so assume it's the stock and not them. This tidbit of "wisdom" gets repeated online until it becomes the worst piece of junk ever to be foisted on the public. This trend isn't even specific to the Hogue/SPS stock.