Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cheap Bolt Gun-Mosin 91

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)

Cheap Bolt Gun-Mosin 91

I didn't want to hi-jack the on going thread about cheap scout rifles, as I am considering going with a Mosin 91. I'm not expecting a precision long gun out of this, just utility.

What are your guy's thoughts on the rifle. I don't have or ever really had a bolt gun and I'm new to this weapon.

The price on these are cheap as with the ammo. I would be wanting to chop the barrel to something shorter and put some type of optic on it.

What realistic range would this be good out to? With them being surplus, how durable are they? Would this be a wasted effort? Anyone done something similar?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Wasted effort. If you want a fun rifle and a piece of history, buy a Mosin and don't do anything to it but shoot it. Learn the irons. But don't try to make it into something it's not.

If you want a bolt rifle for a utility rifle (and maybe later more of a precision rifle), then buy something more modern. There are basic models of the Savage and Remington 700 series that will serve you very well, check out the Stevens 200, a very basic version of the Savage rifles.
    I'm no expert, but I took my CCW course at a Holiday Inn Express

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Avenger29 View Post
    Wasted effort. If you want a fun rifle and a piece of history, buy a Mosin and don't do anything to it but shoot it. Learn the irons. But don't try to make it into something it's not.

If you want a bolt rifle for a utility rifle (and maybe later more of a precision rifle), then buy something more modern. There are basic models of the Savage and Remington 700 series that will serve you very well, check out the Stevens 200, a very basic version of the Savage rifles.

^^^ Absolutely right.
    Quote Originally Posted by MistWolf View Post