Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Vickers/Hackathorn Centennial 1911 Class AAR

Feedback Score
    33 (100%)

Vickers/Hackathorn Centennial 1911 Class AAR

Hackathorn/Vickers Centennial 1911 Class August 6-8

Background. I have been running a Wilson Combat CQB since 2002. My lovely wife bought it for me as a gift right after we got married (good woman). It has seen more shooting schools than I can count and has always performed well. At the time, I really did not know much about 1911’s in regards to who made a good one and who didn’t. Well after this class, I do now! Wilson Combat is at the top of the list for a FIGHTING 1911 and was HEAVILY endorsed by LAV and Ken during the class (which says a lot as these guys always call a spade a spade).

Day 1: We got together for some intros, day’s events, safety brief (real world) and various stages we would be shooting. The good folks at Wilson Combat handed out a VERY nice bag with all kinds of cool stuff in it. Each student received a T-shirt, one of all their various cleaning, polishing and lubricating products, take down tool, 8rd mag and other odds and ends. There had to be well over $100 dollars’ worth of kit in the bag (not counting the case itself)!
    For those of you that are history buffs, man there is a lot of good info here. LAV and Ken are walking encyclopedias when it comes to weapons & Military history. They set up some neat stages that were taken from actual real world events using weapons from that period! Simply fantastic and gave us, the students, an “8X10” glossy of what it was like to fight in that particular situation.
    We covered all the fundamentals along with timed drills thrown in. Team drills were also used. This is always a good time and adds stress to the drill. Ken and LAV also talked about some 1911 history and included Mr. Wilson in a lot of the conversations (including the history of the “Bill Drill”).