Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: M110

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

M110

How is the M110 doing now that is in widespread service? There was a lot of talk about dissatisfaction with it in its initial service; what is the opinion now?
    "The secret to happiness is freedom, and the secret to freedom is courage." - Thucydides, c. 410 BC

Feedback Score
    12 (100%)
    It has been performing well from what I understand. Last complaint I heard from our sniper section leader was directed at the KAC suppressor.
    Combat veteran
    Lifetime NRA member

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    I have extensive experience with the M110. No complaints here. Great platform. We had two of them issued.

We could not get them to group quite as well as the M24's, but accuracy was still outstanding (1-1.5 MOA). The ability to have a suppressed, precision, semi-automatic sniper system far outweighs the marginal accuracy disadvantage.

Many of the complaints stemmed from people who were pulling boresnakes with CLP on them through the bores, and expecting that to be good enough. CLP does nothing to remove copper buildup and is insufficient in this application. 3,000 rounds down the barrel with nothing but an occasional boresnake and CLP is going to lead to poor accuracy.

For whatever reason, the Army would not allow a proper solvent to be issued with the 110's. But, people are getting smarter. We went ahead and acquired our own supply of Shooters Choice solvent (the one that KAC recommends). Cleaned properly with a good one piece rod and bore guide, the barrel performs.

Also, KAC's recommendations as far as replacement intervals on the bolt etc. were not being followed. People were just shooting them to death, ignoring the recommendations, then complaining.

But, again, the Army as a whole is learning from it and these issues are becoming less and less prevalent.

Feedback Score
    104 (100%)