Page 1 of 40 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: What would one look for if they decided to buy an AK?

Feedback Score

What would one look for if they decided to buy an AK?

What would one look for if they decided to buy an AK? Is there a preferred manufacture / type?

Is one style more accurate or durable than another?

Do not take anything for granted. I am completely new to AKs.

Thanks, JC

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    Well, let's start with basics.

There are three types of AK receivers, ones made from forged and milled steel, ones that are made from sheet metal stampings, and ones that are made with heavier gauge reinforced stampings.

You'll hear terms like milled, stamped, and RPK type receivers, which correspond to the three types.

Milled receivers are correctly AK-47's, stamped receivers would be an AKM or AK-74. Reinforced stamped receivers would be known as RPK or Yugoslavian type.

All three work fine, but it's much more important with a stamped receiver that it's done "right".

Stamped receivers are much, much less expensive to manufacture. Milled receivers just scream quality and they tend to provide a more stable platform and are generally more accurate. The reinforced stamped receivers are thicker than a standard stamped receiver, and they use oversized reinforced trunnions that hold the barrel into the receiver. These are also called RPK receivers since they were developed for use with the Soviet squad auto, called the RPK.

Stamped receivers are the most versatile when it comes to playing around with different stocks. Milled receivers are a little more restricted when it comes to that.

Milled receivers can be identified by two milled out sections on either side of the receiver right above the mag well. These are just lightening cuts for the receiver, although they may help in making the receiver stiffer.