Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: # of Rounds to Trust a J-Frame

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

# of Rounds to Trust a J-Frame

Just bought a 642 no lock. Its my first wheel gun. How many rounds do most people fire through a revolver before they deem it ready for carry? With a semi-auto I generally shoot 1000 rounds of FMJ and then 100 rounds of my chosen carry ammo before I trust the gun, but I have no clue with a wheel gun. I have dry fired it about 500 times or so and with no issues so to speak.

I was honestly thinking 100-200 rounds and then 25-50 of 135g+p Gold Dots.

Feedback Score
    I am not a pro by any means, but I did carry a 36 around for years. I think you'll be fine. As long as the timing and cylinder gap are OK, I never worried about mine.

I played with it a lot more finding a round I liked and the pistol liked than worrying about actual mechanical reliability.
    I do not ride to work in a helicopter or pretend to have insider information from my fifth cousin's friend about Delta Force, although I once served with a SEAL unit at Fort Monroe. It was a wedding party and I was 10. And no, I have not stopped talking about it.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    There are a greater number of variables at play with semi-autos than revolvers, so more in depth function verification is warranted with the former than latter.

A few hundred rounds to polish your trigger parts, verify that you're gun is timing correctly, and learning your POI deviations is likely sufficient. After that, continued skills training and practice.

If you use the gucci triggers mods or add-ons, additional verification across a broader range of variables is indicated.
    2012 National Zumba Endurance Champion
    الدهون القاع الفتيات لك جعل العالم هزاز جولة الذهاب

Feedback Score
    12 (100%)