Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 6.5 MM

Feedback Score

6.5 MM

I have been tossing the idea around in my head that i need a new rifle, something that would be fun to shoot long range and use for hunting. Most recently i have been looking into the 6.5 area cartridges like the 6.5 creedmoor and the 6.5 -284. both of which are excellent long range cartridges, from what i read, but i have no experience with what a 140 grain 6.5 mm bullet does terminally. anyone here have experience with what these little things can do
    Last edited by iracecars4fun; 01-22-12 at 10:59.
    Only hits count..you can not miss fast enough to catch up.

Hunt as if you only had one shot, and you will only need one shot.

Feedback Score
    I am a 6.5mm fan, and I hunt deer with a .260 Rem. using 100 gr. Barnes bullets. I have never lost a deer and only recovered one bullet that almost made it out lengthwise through the deer, it was found under the hide. All broadside shots went through and through.

There are a lot of long range shooters using the 6.5/284 cartridge. I don't have one myself, but I built one for a friend and was very impressed with it. He only used it for target shooting and did not hunt with it.

My first 6.5 was the 6.5 x 55mm Swedish Mauser Ackley Improved I made for my custom rifle project in gunsmithing school. It's a very accurate gun and the 142 gr. Sierra MatchKings shoot great in it. It has a heavy 1/8 twist barrel so I only took it hunting once and didn't have a shot at any deer then, so I can't speak about it's terminal performance. Scandinavians have been hunting with the regular version for about a hundred years, so it must work.

If you feel the need to get a new gun in a new caliber, you can't go wrong with a 6.5mm. For hunting, I'd lean towards the 6.5/284 of the two you mentioned.

Last edited by DTHN2LGS; 01-22-12 at 14:09.

Feedback Score
    19 (100%)
    140g Berger VLD at 200M it will kill a deer out to 1000M. This was at 2950 FPS from a 260 rem.