Thread: Rifle gas system + telestock = ? buffer/spring

Feedback Score

Rifle gas system + telestock = ? buffer/spring

Hi gents; recently ordered a 20" rifle from CMMG, but at the last moment changed the A2 stock to a telestock.

Didn't realize it at the time, that this changes the buffer/spring. (That's what I get for reading all the great info on this site...and yes, I'm a rookie to AR15s).

So, to keep the telestock, what spring/buffer do I need to change to to get reliable operation?

Thanks in advance.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    I've been running a wolff extra power spring and a H2 buffer with great results in my rifles. I only use the Wolff spring because I use my lowers with piston uppers too but works with regular uppers great too, not to say a standard spring wouldn't.

Feedback Score
    17 (100%)
    A rifle length gas 20" will run just fine with a standard CAR 2.9oz buffer and standard rate CAR action/buffer spring.
    Chief Armorer for Elite Shooting Sports in Manassas VA
    Chief Armorer for Corp Arms (FFL 07-08/SOT 02)

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    The Canadian Forces found that the H2 buffer was the most relibale weight over the barrel spectrum - and issue it on all lowers equipt with telestocks from 10" to 20"
    Kevin S. Boland
    Manager, Federal Sales
    FN America, LLC
    Office: 703.288.3500 x181 | Mobile: 407-451-4544 | Fax: 703.288.4505
    www.fnhusa.com

Feedback Score
    All interesting info; so I'm guessing standard through H2 buffers work fine because the carbine spring has a higher rate than the rifle spring?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    You'll be amazed at how smooth the rifle-length gas system runs with that setup. It's like butter.
    Instructor: Sniper, Carbine, Handgun, Shotgun
    Armorer: Glock, Colt AR15/M16
    NRA Life Member

Feedback Score
    17 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by KevinB View Post