Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Preferred Tactical Light placement?

Feedback Score

Preferred Tactical Light placement?

So I kind of have a thing for flashlights, even though I am no expert. I have played around with a few ways to mount them on my BCM where they will not interfere with normal operations. I have an offset mount with a couple normal size Streamlight's and EagleTac's. I was goofing around the other day with my Glock's TLR-1 and mounted it on the left side of my quad rail. After testing the brightness vs my other lights and distance/pattern, I really started liking this minimalistic profile on my rifle. So much so I have a TLR-1s on the way to be dedicated to it. It seems you can use your thumb easy enough for temporary on off, but it doesn't seem quite as functional as the direct push buttons on my other tac lights mounted in line with my thumb. In general having the light mounted on the same side as your support hand can take up more space and could be seen as a negative with limited rail space.

How do you guys mount your lights on your AR? Do you prefer having it in line with your support hand or opposite side out of the way? Reasons for opposite mounting? How important is temporary on / off in a home defense situation? Anyone sporting TLR-1 or similar low profile lights? Preference on mounting?

Thanks,

Red Rezin

*See attached for my current setup.

Feedback Score
    It's really about personal preferences and what functions best for you and your needs.

I started with a Surefire G2 mounted on the support hand side of my rifle. I had it on that side so I could use my thumb to push the temp on button. I did not like it on that side because being right handed I would typically post up on a wall, or other support, with that side of my rifle.

I now use the SF M951, it's a little larger than the G2 but it has a dedicated mount and a temp switch that I taped to the FVG.

Feedback Score